Monthly Reflections

Kaitlyn Robinson
4 min readAug 31, 2023

The importance of having a set time to reflect and how I implement this into my planning system.

But looking inward, facing these things, and reminding ourselves that we are just human can help us move past those walls we build.

Why Have a Time to Reflect?

Having a set time each day, week, month, or year to reflect on your personal growth is super important for helping you evaluate what’s working in your life, what’s not working, and what you can do for yourself to keep growing and improving.

It’s important to take a moment and look back at our struggles, our wins, our small daily habits, and see the impact those things have on us and adjust our lifestyle for moving forward. It can help you process unresolved feelings or help you take note of areas of your life that need improving.

I choose to perform these reflections on a monthly basis and have implemented this into my planning system.

My System

I created a week-on-2-page insert that includes a monthly reflections sheet at the end of each month. I find that I don’t need to take hours for the exercise. Just a couple of written paragraphs do the trick.

Find this insert in my Etsy shop, PrintsbyKaitlyn. This reflections and goals sheet is also available as a separate insert, so if you have already purchased your weeklies for 2024, you can still make use of this insert. It is titled the Monthly Goals & Reflections insert, also listed in my shop.

To see more about this insert and how I use it monthly, follow me on instragram, @prints.by.kaitlyn

I like to write down a couple of paragraphs of thoughts, usually in bullet point style, about how the previous month went, bigger events that happened, and what I need to improve on / prioritize for next month. This is usually super informal and not pre-planned. This is something I can come back to and reference throughout the month to keep me on track with my goals. It is also nice to have this to look back on in the future. I am not someone who journals regularly, so it is nice to have a detailed overview of the month.

I spend a minute or two filling out the more and less chart: things I want more or less of in the coming month.

At the bottom of the sheet, I write down a key point from the previous month. This is usually one sentence, just something I learned or something that stood out to me. This is usually the part of my reflection that sticks with me throughout the month. It becomes a theme.

How to Start

You don’t need a specific planner insert for this, although I do find the guidance helpful. But you can just start on blank notebook paper. Set a designated time for yourself to reflect. I find that weekly reflections are too often for me and I don’t keep up with them, but it may work for you! You can even do this as part of your daily routine. What matters is that you are being intentional about reflecting on where you are in your life and how you would like to move forward.

Don’t over-complicate it. When I first started, I liked to search for journaling prompts. This helped guide me to start. Once you start writing, it becomes easy.

I think sometimes it is hard to look inward at ourselves, because maybe we aren’t happy with where we are in life or maybe aren’t even happy with ourselves. But looking inward, facing these things, and reminding ourselves that we are just human can help us move past those walls we build. We can never improve and grow if we don’t own our mistakes and use them as learning experiences.

Come chat with me on instagram! @prints.by.kaitlyn

Visit my Etsy shop for 2024 printable planner inserts, decorative dashboards, journaling cards, and more. PrintsbyKaitlyn

FREEBIE!

Here is a free September wallpaper calendar download for you! Available for desktop and mobile, Sunday and Monday start! Enjoy!

--

--